I miss the thundering storms as they crossed our village on summer nights

10 things I missed about France, that I have found a substitute for in England

Sophie Duncan
3 min readJun 25, 2023

Greetings reader

This is an article I have been meaning to write for a while. Life been so busy I’ve decided to just start it one item at a time. If you have any questions or are eager for me to suggest a solution to something in particular please send me a message.

Enjoy

1.Pharmacies of course

The French use clay for healing and beauty endemically. You can find it is supermarkets, pharmacies and garden centres but in the UK nilch, nada, nowhere!

There are several but this is my favourite French pharmacy on line.

Search clay. Ninety one products and free delivery over £69 at time of writing. Have fun. A couple of my favourite products are the Klorane shampoo range. Pricey but works for my thick fine hair, but these face masks are just brilliant and very good value.

A different one for a different part of your face. This is something the French really do well.

--

--

Sophie Duncan

I write about France, Oxford, dogs, love and more. Sign up for my newsletter today, find Beyond Paris - a Short Guide to Rural France on Amazon